ARC Review and blog tour post: The Geography of Lost Things by Jessica Brody

The Geography of Lost Things

by Jessica Brody
Publisher: Simon Pulse

Release Date: October 2, 2018
Genre: Young Adult – Contemporary, Romance
 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg

Synopsis:


In this romantic road trip story perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Morgan Matson, a teen girl discovers the value of ordinary objects while learning to forgive her absent father.

After Ali’s father passes away, he leaves his one and only prized possession—a 1968 Firebird convertible—to his daughter. But Ali doesn’t plan on keeping it. Not when it reminds her too much of all her father’s unfulfilled promises. So when she finds a buyer three hundred miles up the Pacific coast willing to pay enough money for the car to save her childhood home, Ali can’t wait to get going. Except Ali has no idea how to drive a stick shift. But guess who does?

Ali’s ex-boyfriend, Nico. And Nico has other plans.

He persuades Ali that instead of selling the car, they should “trade up” the items they collect on their trip to eventually reach the monetary amount Ali needs. Agreeing with Nico’s crazy plan, Ali sets off on a unique adventure that is unlike anything she ever could have expected.

And it’s through Ali’s travels, through the strangers she meets and the things that they value—and why they value them—that Ali eventually comes to understand her father and how his life may not have been as easy and carefree as she previously thought. Because just like the seemingly insignificant objects Ali collects, not everything is exactly as it appears.

My review:

The Geography of Lost Things really is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen. I wasn’t ready for this book when I first picked it up.  I couldn’t put it down the second time I picked it up!

Nico and Ali take a road trip to sell her dad’s car to someone on Craigslist. I loved the plot, I just couldn’t help but feeling worried about them the whole time since their parents probably didn’t know where they were or that they would be gone for a week and a half or so. I was emotionally invested.

The pacing of the story was good too. I thought the chapter headers were a little bit hard to get into the first time but the second time it clicked and I really liked how different they were. The road trip is a road trip kids dream about when they just graduate high school!

The writing was really well done too, I liked the style and the voice.  It was believable. I’d definitely recommend this book to anybody who likes contemporary romance. I’d also recommend it for anybody who is looking for that last summer vibe feeling book before the winter comes. It was a five star read. Thank you Netgalley and publishers for the chance to read this book!

The cover was simply gorgeous too!

Jessica Brody knew from a young age that she wanted to be a writer. She started self “publishing” her own books when she was seven years old, binding the pages together with cardboard, wallpaper samples, and electrical tape.

After graduating from Smith College in 2001 where she double majored in Economics and French and minored in Japanese, Jessica later went on to work for MGM Studios as a Manager of Acquisitions and Business Development. In May of 2005, Jessica quit her job to follow her dream of becoming a published author.

Since then, Jessica has sold over twelve novels for teens, tweens, and adults including 52 Reasons to Hate My Father, The Karma Club, My Life Undecided, and the three books in the Unremembered trilogy, the first of which is currently in development as a major motion picture by the producers of The Vampire Academy, Zero Dark Thirty, Life of Pi, and Slumdog Millionaire. In 2016, she will release two new contemporary novels, A Week of Mondays (August) and Boys of Summer (April), and in 2017, her debut middle grade novel entitled, Addie Bell’s Shortcut to Growing Up, will hit bookstore shelves.

Jessica also writes books for the Descendants: “School of Secrets” series, based on the hit Disney Channel Original movie, Descendants!

Jessica’s books are published and translated in over twenty foreign countries. (Click here for a full list of foreign sales and publishers.) She currently splits her time between California and Colorado.

Giveaway

Prize: 2 Finished Copies of The Geography of Lost Things by Jessica Brody (USA only)

Starts: 10/1/18

Ends: 10/10/18

Direct Link:

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/d9681b86322/?

October 1st

That Artsy Reader Girl – Welcome Interview

October 2nd

The Heart of a Book Blogger – Author Q&A
Moonlight Rendezvous – Review & Favorite Quotes

October 3rd

Literary Meanderings – Author Guest Post
What’s She Reading? – Review

October 4th

We Live and Breathe Books – Review
Snark & Squee – Review
Book CrushIn – Creative Post

October 5th

Colleen’s Conclusions – Review
Belle’s Book Blog – Review & Favorite Quotes
A Dream Within a Dream – Author Guest Post

October 6th

Flying Paperbacks – Review & Favorite Quotes
MetalPhantasmReads – Author Q&A
Magical Reads – Review & Creative Post
KookBookery – Review

October 7th

Never Too Many to Read – Creative Post
My Fangirl Chronicles – Review
Voracious Bookling – Review

October 8th

Reader Rising – Review
The Reading Faery – Creative Post
Books, Beauty, Buys – Review

2 thoughts on “ARC Review and blog tour post: The Geography of Lost Things by Jessica Brody”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s