ARC review for House of Salt and Sorrows by Erin A. Craig

I’ve gotten a little bit behind on reviewing this last month since I took a vacation at the end of February. I’m slowly going to be catching up!

House of Salt and Sorrows

House of Salt and Sorrows by Erin A. Craig (Goodreads Author)

In a manor by the sea, twelve sisters are cursed.

Annaleigh lives a sheltered life at Highmoor, a manor by the sea, with her sisters, their father, and stepmother. Once they were twelve, but loneliness fills the grand halls now that four of the girls’ lives have been cut short. Each death was more tragic than the last—the plague, a plummeting fall, a drowning, a slippery plunge—and there are whispers throughout the surrounding villages that the family is cursed by the gods.

Disturbed by a series of ghostly visions, Annaleigh becomes increasingly suspicious that the deaths were no accidents. Her sisters have been sneaking out every night to attend glittering balls, dancing until dawn in silk gowns and shimmering slippers, and Annaleigh isn’t sure whether to try to stop them or to join their forbidden trysts. Because who—or what—are they really dancing with?

When Annaleigh’s involvement with a mysterious stranger who has secrets of his own intensifies, it’s a race to unravel the darkness that has fallen over her family—before it claims her next.

My review:

I had a hard time getting into this book at first, but I thought it had a really unique plot. I think it took me about five chapters to get into, but once I did I liked the characters. I thought the retelling part about the Twelve Dancing Sister’s was very unique. This was one fairy tale I didn’t know as much as the others but I still enjoyed it.
One of my favorite characters was Fisher, he was a family friend loved by all of them.
One thing I did not like was the ending. It seemed like everything was going smooth and then the author realized at about 90 percent how much time was left and it was like a whirlwind of action. There was definitely a lot to take in at the end, and my mind is still trying to wrap my thoughts around it.
Overall, it was a four star read. I do recommend it to those that like eerie retellings. I think House of Salt and Sorrows is perfect for fans of Truly Devious and These Vicious Masks. It just had the same haunted vibes and mystery those books had.
Thank you Netgalley and publishers for giving me the chance to read it.

What do you think about this book? Is it on your to be read list at all? What are some of your favorite retellings? 

5 thoughts on “ARC review for House of Salt and Sorrows by Erin A. Craig”

  1. I read somewhere that the plot was in some way connected to or a metaphor for HIV… I have to find the article when I dont feel like my sinuses are exploding. Did you pick up on anything remotely like that?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s