ARC review: Start Here by Trish Doller

Start HereStart Here by Trish Doller (Goodreads Author) 4.50  ·  Rating details  ·  16 ratings  ·  13 reviews

Two teens go on a life-changing sailing trip as they deal with the grief of losing their best friend in this heartwrenching, hopeful novel from the author of Something Like Normal and In a Perfect World.

Willa and Taylor were supposed to spend the summer after high school sailing from Ohio to Key West with their best friend, Finley. But Finley died before graduation, leaving them with a twenty-five-foot sailboat, a list of clues leading them to destinations along the way, and a friendship that’s hanging by a thread.

Now, Willa and Taylor have two months and two thousand miles to discover how life works without Finley—and to decide if their own friendship is worth saving.

From acclaimed author Trish Doller comes a poignant tale of forgiveness, grief, and the brilliant discoveries we make within ourselves when we least expect it.

My review:

Start Here by Trish Doller is perfect for fans of Morgan Matson and Jen Malone. It had the same friendships and traveling vibes and it’s the PERFECT book to read in the summer or if you’re just on vacation.

I really enjoyed reading this book and was glad that I have the new Nook Glowlight Plus because PDF’s look GREAT on it. At least two out of three PDF’s have looked like an actual book.

I wish we could have gotten to know Finley a bit better, though I get that she died and we couldn’t really get to know her at all. I liked how Willa and Taylor were trying to become friends even though Finley was the glue. Also, Pumpkin was adorable, I love pets in stories. I really liked Wyatt and Willa.

This book is perfect if you’re looking for books about summer or even if you just need a break from those cold winter nights in the winter. That cover is fun too!! Thank you Netgalley for giving me the chance to read this book. It was a four out of five star rating.


Thanks for reading! Feel free to leave a comment! 

2 thoughts on “ARC review: Start Here by Trish Doller”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s