eARC review: The First Date by Zara Stoneley

The First DateThe First Date by Zara Stoneley (Goodreads Author)

3.39  · 
From the USA Today bestselling author of The Wedding Date!Right place.
Right time.
Wrong guy …

After breaking up with her childhood sweetheart, clueless dater Rosie has found herself in a boyfriend-drought. So when she finally swipes right on a guy who seems interested, she can’t wait to meet up IRL.

Until she’s left standing alone. In a bar. Ghosted.

Enter Noah. Confident, funny … and a serial first dater. Offering to give Rosie a crash course in seduction, this could be just what she needs. Until her matchmaker turns out to be the best date she’s ever had – and Rosie wonders if she wants the fake dates to be the real ones after all …

A hilarious, heartwarming romantic comedy about what happens when the wrong guy turns up at the right time, perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella and Debbie Johnson.

My review:

If your favorite beverage was a book, The First Date by Zara Stoneley definitely was it! It was definitely my cup of tea! Ok, I drink Dr. Pepper, but cup of Dr. Pepper doesn’t have the right sound to it.

What I liked:

I really liked the characters in this book. I know I say that over and over again in my review, but I love it when authors can make me like their characters. It’s rough when you can’t identify with the main character, but I could definitely relate to Rosie.

This book was like the movie He’s Just not that into you and Sophie Kinsella’s books combined. I seem to be on a roll with finding books that are like Sophie Kinsella. I love rom-com right now especially.

I did like Noah a lot. He was such a fun character and I liked how Rosie was able to be herself around him even though he was a stranger at first.

Rosie’s mom and best friend were also good characters who tried to let Rosie relax.

What I didn’t like:

I didn’t like the fact that Rosie kept comparing Noah to her dad, because not every guy is going to be like one particular guy. I also learned that too several years ago, though it took me awhile. I liked how that was changed in the book.

It did take a bit to get into the book for some reason. I kept stumbling over the first chapter a couple of times, but that may have been because it was a PDF book originally and Netgalley recently changed it to Mobi/Epub file and I like those types of files best.

The First Date by Zara Stoneley was a five star read and I think it is a perfect book to pick up especially if you are looking for something light to read while in quarantine or working from home or whatever situation it is you are escaping from. Thank you Netgalley and publishers for the chance to read this book! This had no impact on my opinions, my opinions are my own.


Thank you  for reading!

1 thought on “eARC review: The First Date by Zara Stoneley”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s