eARC review: A relentless Rake by Anna Harrington

A Relentless Rake (Lords of the Armory, #4)

A Relentless Rake

(Lords of the Armory #4) by Anna Harrington (Goodreads Author) 4.23  ·   Rating details ·  153 ratings  ·  114 reviews

For fans of Grace Burrowes, Sarah Maclean, and Bridgerton, USA Today bestselling author Anna Harrington brings you a sexy feminist historical romance with:

• An unapologetic rake attempting to cover up his past
• A rule-following heroine unafraid to speak her mind
• Thrilling action and mystery
• Passionate attraction that overrides their deepest resistance


Notorious rake Alexander Sinclair, Earl of St James, takes pride in displaying his sins. When he’s tasked by the Home Office with finding the men who attempted to assassinate the prime minister, his hunt leads him to Olivia Everett, a most proper schoolmistress who wants nothing to do with a profligate nobleman like him.

Unknown to her, Olivia’s brother, Henry, has been working with the revolutionary group planning to overthrow the government. Shocked and hoping to save her brother, Olivia agrees to help the persuasive earl. But they closer they get to uncovering the villains, the more Alec and Olivia will need to trust each other.

My review:

A relentless rake was the first book I read in this series, but I didn’t feel like I had to read the others first in order to know what was going on.

This was the first historical romance that had a bit of a mystery side that I read and I really liked the mystery side. I loved the fact that Alec had to protect Olivia and she ended up being a brilliant character who wouldn’t just sit on the sidelines and accept things.

I liked how she tried to stand up and fight for herself and Alec ended up being the first person she revealed her past hidden secrets to aside from her brother. That said, I didn’t like how judgemental he got about her past even when she admitted it was a mistake. I did like the redemption he got later though.

I am definitely interested in reading more books from this series. It was a five star rating. Thank you Netgalley and publishers for allowing me the chance to read and review this. My thoughts and opinions are my own.

3 thoughts on “eARC review: A relentless Rake by Anna Harrington”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s